Ken Tucker http://boisestatepublicradio.org en The Cowboy That Wasn't A Cowboy Sings http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/cowboy-wasnt-cowboy-sings Cowboy Jack Clement, who died in 2013 at age 82, was a prolific producer, songwriter, arranger, and talent scout. He brought Jerry Lee Lewis to Sun Records, helped nurture the career of one of the few black country stars, Charley Pride, and worked on important albums for artists as various as Waylon Jennings and U2.<p>Jack Clement only made three albums of his own, the last of which is the new <em>For Once and For All</em>. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 19:03:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 48866 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org If Jim Lauderdale Is A Song, More People Should Hear It http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/if-jim-lauderdale-song-more-people-should-hear-it <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16295727/jim-lauderdale">Jim Lauderdale</a>'s new album is called <em>I'm A Song</em>, a title that suggests his deep Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:46:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 48507 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Strand Of Oaks: Songs Heal All Wounds http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/strand-oaks-songs-heal-all-wounds If you're going to be downbeat, glum, or morose, it's best to do it the way Timothy Showalter does it. Which is, with an energy and purpose that doesn't contradict the melancholy, but rather frames it as various stories — studies in seriousness. He records under the name Strand of Oaks, he writes and performs nearly all of the music on this new album himself. It's titled <em>Heal</em> as in "healing a wound," something Strand of Oaks frequently seems in need of. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 18:49:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 48116 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Lana Del Rey's 'Ultraviolence' Has A Firm Grasp On Pop History http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/lana-del-reys-ultraviolence-has-firm-grasp-pop-history <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/145913023/lana-del-rey">Lana Del Rey</a> is a figure of some controversy for her suggestive lyrics, and critical debate as to the extent of her vocal talent versus her talent for publicity. She recently caused a stir when she gave an interview in which she said, quote, "I wish I was dead already," and drew criticism from, among others, Kurt Cobain's daughter Frances Bean. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:09:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 47788 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Parquet Courts' Misery Is Exhilarating http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/parquet-courts-misery-exhilarating Parquet Courts is a Brooklyn by way of Texas band that has just released its new third record, <em>Sunbathing Animal</em>. The quartet has drawn comparisons to New York rock and punk acts as various as the Velvet Underground, the New York Dolls, and Sonic Youth, but rock critic Ken Tucker says this album proves Parquet Courts is an original. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 18:35:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 47241 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Miranda Lambert's 'Platinum' Has Backyard Swagger http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/miranda-lamberts-platinum-has-backyard-swagger Miranda Lambert's new album is called <em>Platinum</em>. Lambert has become one of the best-selling artists in country music, and one of the most critically acclaimed. Rock critic Ken Tucker says her new album continues Lambert's ongoing project to create songs about women who are complex, fun-loving, and assertive. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 19:28:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 46508 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org John Fullbright's Uneven 'Songs' Finds A Way To Fascinate http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/john-fullbrights-uneven-songs-finds-way-fascinate <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/153197900/john-fullbright">John Fullbright</a>'s <em>Songs</em> is the most interestingly uneven album I've heard in a while. The work of a smart young man, it's also the work of a self-conscious young man who's prone to mistaking articulate melancholy for wisdom. Fullbright's debut album contained bold melodies and told stories about daydreamers and offbeat people. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 17:56:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 46374 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org John Fullbright's Uneven 'Songs' Finds A Way To Fascinate Two New Items From Hank Williams http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/two-new-items-hank-williams Transcript <p>TERRY GROSS, HOST: <p>This is FRESH AIR. Hank Williams is commonly considered the most important country music songwriter and one of its first tragic figures, dying at age 29, in 1953. Mon, 26 May 2014 18:03:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 45966 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Ray LaMontagne Finds The Bright Side On 'Supernova' http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/ray-lamontagne-finds-bright-side-supernova <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X294h3dl2_I</p> Tue, 13 May 2014 17:09:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 45184 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Ray LaMontagne Finds The Bright Side On 'Supernova' tUnE-yArDs: Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/tune-yards-aint-nothing-real-thing <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbiFcPhccu8</p> Mon, 05 May 2014 14:33:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 44693 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org tUnE-yArDs: Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing For Jessica Lea Mayfield, Sometimes Sanity Is The Better Option http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/jessica-lea-mayfield-sometimes-sanity-better-option <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=meHGilIpCbE</p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 16:51:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 43990 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org For Jessica Lea Mayfield, Sometimes Sanity Is The Better Option A Duo's Debut Album: A Collaboration From 'The Both' http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/duos-debut-album-collaboration-both Transcript <p>DAVE DAVIES, HOST: <p>The Both is the name for the duo formed by veteran singer-songwriters Aimee Mann and Ted Leo. "The Both" is also the name of their debut album. The two began performing together in 2012, when Ted Leo was Mann's opening act. Mann began joining Leo onstage during his set. They liked the sound their voices together and started collaborating. Rock critic Ken Tucker has this review of "The Both."<p>(SOUNDBITE OF SONG, "THE GAMBLER")<p>THE BOTH: (singing) The ball dropped in the cold like dawn on a cold eastern morning. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:57:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 43675 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Carlene Carter Carries The Heavy Burden Of History Lightly http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/carlene-carter-carries-heavy-burden-history-lightly <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbdrFYYgn3k</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 16:02:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 42930 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Carlene Carter Carries The Heavy Burden Of History Lightly Jon Langford Sings Our Impulse To Destroy http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/jon-langford-sings-our-impulse-destroy <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJO6KR5A9wg</p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 15:57:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 42800 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Jon Langford Sings Our Impulse To Destroy Sara Evans: Country Power Ballads With A Punch http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/sara-evans-country-power-ballads-punch <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lexeFtDREPg</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 15:07:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 42038 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Sara Evans: Country Power Ballads With A Punch Angel Olsen: A Voice Of Confounding Power http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/angel-olsen-voice-confounding-power <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/245998397/angel-olsen" target="_blank">Angel Olsen</a> begins the song "Hi-Five" by paraphrasing <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15199726/hank-williams" target="_blank">Hank Williams</a>, admitting she's so lonesome she could cry. She goes on to say she just wants someone who believes in love as urgently as she does. The twanging guitar throbbing beneath these sentiments suggests that it's going to be a long, lonely search. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 17:31:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 41504 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Angel Olsen: A Voice Of Confounding Power Pharrell Williams: Just Exhilaratingly Happy http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/pharrell-just-exhilaratingly-happy Pharrell Williams, who frequently goes by just his first name, is the sort of pop star whom many people would like to view as a friend. Emerging from hip-hop, he makes charming recordings that suggest a deep appreciation of pop, soul and R&B music extending at least as far back as the 1960s. To hear Pharrell on his new album <em>G I R L</em>, you'd think his world consisted of grooving on catchy beats and flirting with women. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 19:38:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 41258 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Pharrell Williams: Just Exhilaratingly Happy Chuck Mead: Gleefully Sinister Country Serenades http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/chuck-mead-gleefully-sinister-country-serendes In "Reno County Girl," Chuck Mead serenades us with a tale about a young woman with whom his narrator fell in love. It's a loping country song, Mead's version of cowboy music, but as its pretty melody unfurls, you realize that its scenario is bleak: Mead's character urged her to leave home despite the objections of her father, and it turns out Daddy was right — this guy leaves her all by her lonesome much of the time. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 18:35:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 41070 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Chuck Mead: Gleefully Sinister Country Serenades Vertical Scratchers: Slashed Chords, Fractured Poetry http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/vertical-scratchers-slashed-chords-fractured-poetry The members of Vertical Scratchers don't have to pretend: They are free spirits, making music that is at once tightly composed, whimsical and anarchic.<p>The vocals on a Vertical Scratchers song tend to be high-pitched and yearning. John Schmersal creates harmonies from his vocal tracks that have a keening romanticism. His guitar lines are a series of slashed chords — vertical scratching, and thus the band's name. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 19:15:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 40705 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Vertical Scratchers: Slashed Chords, Fractured Poetry Lake Street Dive: 'Portraits' Of Heartache http://boisestatepublicradio.org/post/lake-street-dive-portraits-heartache Lake Street Dive is powered by the voice of Rachael Price; it's what hits you first when you listen to this quartet. It's a ringingly clear, strong voice, a sound that's at once beseeching and in control. Price regularly harmonizes with the other members of Lake Street Dive — bassist Bridget Kearney, drummer Mike Calabrese and Mike Olson, who also plays guitar and trumpet. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 21:13:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 40086 at http://boisestatepublicradio.org Lake Street Dive: 'Portraits' Of Heartache