Counties Across Idaho In Weather-Related States Of Emergency

Mar 22, 2017

Many parts of Idaho have declared states of emergency due to winter weather.
Credit Eddie Welker / Flickr

Counties in all parts of the state have declared various, weather related emergencies. As of Tuesday, 27 counties were listed as being impacted by weather conditions to the point of emergency status.

The latest counties to get disaster status are in the northern part of the state; yesterday Governor Butch Otter declared states of emergency in Latah, Benewah, Shoshone, Clearwater, Bonner, Kootenai and Boundary Counties due to fears of avalanches and flooding.

Reports from the Idaho Office Of Emergency Management show many regions of southwest and southeast Idaho also are preparing for the worst. Ada County remains under a state disaster declaration for snow as does Canyon County. Some counties in the Magic Valley like Twin Falls, Jerome and Lincoln still remain under declarations for winter flooding.

As for damages, 67 residential structures in Minidoka County are listed as damaged, with one structure being a total loss. A residential building was also destroyed in Twin Falls County. There, 23 homes have been impacted. The Office of Emergency Management shows no fatalities or injuries related to the declared disaster zones across the state.

For more local news, follow the KBSX newsroom on Twitter @KBSX915

Copyright 2017 Boise State Public Radio